Latest news


Partners4Access announces second gene therapy webinar on U.S. lessons learnt from Luxturna and Kymriah

Complementary webinar will be held on Wednesday April 4 2018 at 17:00 GMT/12:00 EST/9:00 PST. Registration available at

PARTNERS4ACCESS has announced details of its upcoming webinar titled ` Gene Therapy – U.S. Lessons learnt from Luxturna & Kymriah’. This is the second in a three-part webinar series on Gene Therapy.

This 60 min webinar will explore the challenges associated with the payment models for reimbursement of new gene therapies in the U.S.; incorporating the health insurance and gene therapy manufacturers’ perspective. In particular, we will examine recent payer programs such as:

  1. Outcomes-based rebate arrangement with a long-term durability measure
  2. Innovative contracting model under which payments would be made over time

Speaking about the webinar, Sophie Schmitz, Managing Partner, Partners4Access said, “The US gene therapy landscape is rapidly evolving; it’s more essential than ever for companies planning to launch a gene therapy to learn from recent payer reactions in order to formulate a successful strategy. Gene therapy has the potential to positively disrupt the healthcare delivery model and as such it needs a bespoke approach.”

Speakers at the webinar include:

Dr Edmund Pezalla, CEO of Enlightenment Bioconsult and former Vice President for Pharmaceutical Policy and Strategy, Aetna

Prasun Subedi, Senior Director at Center for Health System Innovation and Leadership Patient and Health Impact, Pfizer

Sophie Schmitz, Managing Partner at Partners4Access

During this webinar, attendees will learn whether alternative mechanisms and payment models are essential for gene therapy; key considerations for patient assistance and payer programs for gene therapy manufacturers; key lessons learnt from Spark’s payer programs.

This webinar will be hosted by Partners4Access on April 4, 2018 at 9:00 PST (17:00 GMT). Register for the live webinar at:


About Partners4Access:

P4A are specialists in orphan drug access, partnering with the biotechnology industry to support launches worldwide. Focus areas include: orphan drugs pricing and market access strategy; bespoke access roadmap; rare disease foresights; evidence mitigation solutions; access team excellence. As one of the only consultancies with comprehensive experience in cell and gene therapies, P4A are excellently placed to help clients successfully achieve access.

Through its initiatives, P4A are able to inform and shape the conversation around orphan drugs.

The team at P4A believe in striking an equilibrium in the rare disease world. That means helping drive access to the most appropriate treatments for patients and physicians, a fair return on investment for manufacturers at an affordable proposition for payers.

For more information, please email P4A at